Meaning crisis

15 06 2008

I have been reading in Ecclesiastes & decided that Solomon was having a meaning crisis when he wrote that book. My favorite verse: “Notice the way God does things; then fall into line. Don’t fight the ways of God, for who can straighten out what he has made crooked?” Ecc 7:13

In other words- do what you see the big guy doing. Don’t fight his system. After all, how often, once you’ve blown it, can you fix it again?

I think I like it because it makes God sound like The Godfather. “Mess up and you’ll be swimming with the fishes.” Yeah… sort of like Jonah.

Here’s another great one. Solomon must have been mad at several of his wives when he wrote this one: “‘This is my conclusion,’ says the teacher. ‘I came to this result after looking into the matter from every possible angle. Just one out of every thousand men I interviewed can be said to be upright, but not one woman!‘” Ecc 7:28 Isn’t that a hoot?!

Paul is a little more evenhanded with his version: “We have all, every one of us, fallen short of the glory of God.”

Solomon sounds like me in this one, also from chapter seven: “All along I have tried my best to let wisdom guide my thoughts and actions. I said to myself, ‘I am determined to be wise.’ But it didn’t really work.”

No, it doesn’t, does it? No matter how we try. We always stick our foot in it somewhere. But it’s 10:30, and I’m going to be wise and go to bed.

King David and King Solomon
Lived merry, merry lives
With many, many lady friends
And many, many wives.
But when old age crept up on them
With all its aches and qualms,
King Solomon wrote the Proverbs
And King David wrote the Psalms!

Annonymous

Actions

Information

One response

16 06 2008
Lisa

A-Men sister. That is also why it is not a good Idea to tell your kids do as I say and not as I do. We have to teach by example. Like God is trying to teach us.

Leave a Reply

