Lies

1 05 2008

I flipped to Zephaniah when I sat down to brush my hair and read my bible this morning.  I found a couple of good verses.  “But the Lord is still there in the city, and he does no wrong.  Day by day his justice is more evident, but no one takes notice…” (3:5)  I like that.

What I wanted o post about is 3:13, “The people of Israel who survive will do no wrong to each other, never telling lies or deceiving one another.  They will live peaceful lives, lying down to sleep in safety; there will be no one to make them afraid.”

You know, I think the lie is the basic building block of evil.  Sort of like an amino acid of wrong-doing.  If you’re lying it’s because you are doing, have done, or want to do something that will hurt the other person, and you don’t want them to know about it so they can prevent you or hold you accountable.  No wonder the Adversary is called the Father of Lies!

Can you imagine living a peaceful life, lying down in sleep in safety because there was no one around to make you afraid?  That sounds wonderful to me.  Over the years, as Neal has traveled and I have been left at home with small children I have been afraid of a lot of things.  Burglars.  Falling down the stairs and breaking a leg and not being able to reach the phone for help.  Being murdered in my bed like a news headline.  Fire.  Being trapped in a fire because I couldn’t get the children out of the house.  I have, for years, wanted a dog to keep me company while he was gone, but for one reason or another, have never been able to have one.

If all that fear of evil men were gone, I would definitely obey Zephanaiah and “Sing, O daughter of Zion, shout aloud, O Israel!  For the Lord will remove his hand of judgement and will disperse the armies of your enemy.  And the Lord himself, the King of Israel, will live among you!”  That sounds wonderful.  All the hints of God I have ever had have been so gentle, so patient, so loving… Having him live with me would have to be delightful.  “At last your troubles will be over, and you will fear disaster no more.”

May it be as you say, Father!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

