Happy Super Mom Day!

30 03 2008

    When I came home from my class last night, a picture on the door said, “Cum in fer yor supriz!”  There were balloons on the ceiling fan, a big poster taped over the couch, and a banner over the dining room archway that said, “Welcome Super MOM.”

They set out roses and snacks on the table in the living room.  Neal grilled hamburgers and Donal made caramel popcorn.  There was  a schedule posted on the fridge that went  like this: “5:30 h’orderves & sparkling grape juse, 6:00 dinner, 7:30 movie, 7:00 dancing.”  Someone had picked out a selection of dance music on my computer and we danced in the kitchen.  I wish you could have seen my husband dancing to “Magic Carpet Ride.”  We ended up smooching behind the refrigerator while the kids chased balloons.  Then everyone piled up on the beds in our room and watched Meet The Robinsons and ate caramel popcorn you had to chip out of the bowl with a knife.

The roses they gave me were really beautiful- yellow with dark pink edges.  I told them it was better than any birthday party and Mothers Day I had ever had in my life.  I can’t imagine how much time they put into putting it together.  Before bed Donal came and lay down with his head in my lap for a snuggle.  I kissed him until he confessed that it had been his idea (I knew it wasn’t Neal’s- definitely not his style).  He tried to deny it for a while, but his ears always turn bright red when he’s embarrassed.  Rather like Rudolph’s nose.  So I knew who the mastermind was, though Bren did a lot of the work, and so did Neal.  They cleaned, did a 2 hour shopping trip to Walmart, painted, drew signs, made food, and set up the house.  Even Michael helped blow up balloons to tape to the ceiling fan.

Wow- I have the best family in the world!

Actions

Information

One response

4 04 2008
Neal Wilhite

The basic party for mammy was donals and the popcorn and grilling. Originally it was supposed to be steaks. Lack of preparation, you know.

The baloons along with many other decorations that were lost in un preparedness. The movie also.

The dancing, the banner and the poster were my idea. Of course neither of them actually started any actions. Actions are all driven by someone who actually starts things.

Leave a Reply

